Women are from Venus, Chocolate is from Mars

Yesterday, I went with one of my new colleagues to E-town’s Convocation. She was taking pictures, and I was tagging along to experience the tradition. As she was taking pictures of the crowd before the procession began, I couldn’t help but inhale. After all, that’s part of surviving.

When I inhaled nasally, the smell of chocolate chip cookies spread throughout my olfactory cavity.

“Do you smell cookies?” I asked the photographer. The dining services staff was working on setting up tents for the All-College Picnic to follow the Convocation. Freshly-baked cookies for dessert, I thought to myself. But how did they get the ovens outside? I’ve seen tiny portable ovens before, but for hundreds of people? Would everyone get a cookie?

“That’s M&M/Mars. It always smells like that,” she replied with a smile.

It wasn’t cookies. It was chocolate. Being made. But it smelled just like cookies baking in the oven. I wondered what was being done at the moment. Was it the chocolate being made from the cocoa? Or, was a batch of Peanut Butter M&Ms (my favorite) being made? Joe and I had passed the manufacturing facility while we were exploring Elizabethtown, but I didn’t realize the chocolaty smell lingered all the way to campus. Mmm!

Today, on my way to campus I had my windows down (which I hand-rolled, by the way). As I turned on to Chestnut from High on onto to College Ave., I smelled that smell again. What a pleasant way to start each morning.

(As a side bar — chocolate bar in this case– I learned that Mars makes a lot more than I thought – Skittles and Altoids, for example. I also read in the latest Elizabethtown College alumni magazine that Frank Mars – a fourth generation of the family owners of the company — spoke on campus.)

When the time rolls around where I crave chocolate more than other times of the month, you may just find me at the edge of campus getting some respiratory therapy for PMS. Chocolate inhalers. Now there’s a good idea.

About Donna Talarico

Higher ed web marketing. Creative writer. Love word games. View all posts by Donna Talarico

One response to “Women are from Venus, Chocolate is from Mars

Share your thoughts!

